

King's Birthday Honours

King's Birthday Honours 2023

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)

Associate Professor Robert Ali

MBBS 1982, Grad Dip Pub Hlth 1997, current University staff member and former titleholder For distinguished service to medical and health research, particularly drug and alcohol dependence, and to education and training.

Ms Moya Dodd

LL B (Hons) 1988, D Univ 2021

For distinguished service to football as a player and administrator at the national and international level, as a role model to women, and to the law.

Professor Michael Horowitz

MBBS 1977, Ph D 1984, D Sc 2021, and current University staff member

For distinguished service to endocrinology, particularly diabetes, as a researcher, educator and clinician.

Professor Brendon Kearney AM

MBBS 1968

For distinguished service to medicine in the fields of health technology assessment and health outcomes research.

Professor Michael Kidd AM

Friend of the University

For distinguished service in medical administration and community health, to primary care leadership, and to tertiary education.

Associate Professor Sharon Liberali

BDS 1987, Grad Dip Clin Dent 1992, D Clin Dent (Res) 2009, current University staff member and former titleholder For distinguished service to special needs dentistry, to infection control practice enhancement, to tertiary education, and to professional organisations.

Professor Ruth Marshall

current University titleholder

For distinguished service to rehabilitation medicine, particularly to people living with spinal cord injury or disorder, as a leader, mentor and clinician.

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) (continued)

Ms Cheryl Vardon

BA 1967

For distinguished service to public administration, particularly education and health, and for the protection of children and young people.

Mr Jim Whalley

MBA 2000

For distinguished service to business, particularly the defence capability industry, to the public sector, to aviation history, and to the community.

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

Dr Karin Alexander

BDS 1983

For significant service to dentistry, and to professional bodies.

Emeritus Professor Philip Boyce

Dip Psych 1982

For significant service to psychiatric research and education.

Dr Caroline (Jane) Elliott

MBBS 1979, former University staff member and current titleholder For significant service to medicine, and to women's health.

Ms Michaela Healey

LLB 1990

For significant service to social enterprise and to not-for-profit organisations.

Dr Michael Jay

MBBS 1972

For significant service to otolaryngology, to head and neck surgery, and to professional bodies.

Emeritus Professor Peter Langridge

D Sc 2021, former University staff member and current titleholder

For significant service to science in the field of plant genomics and agriculture.

Ms Mary Marsland PSM

B Arch 1972

For significant service to architecture in a range of roles.

Professor Jennifer McKay

LLB 1988

For significant service to the law, and to the legal profession.

Dr Paul Sambrook

BDS 1985, MDS 1990, MBBS 1993 and current University staff member

For significant service to dentistry as a clinician and academic.

Member of the Order of Australia (AM) (continued)

Distinguished Professor Justine Smith *BA 1989, MBBS 1989*

For significant service to ophthalmology, particularly research and education.

Dr Philip Tideman MBBS 1985

For significant service to rural and remote medicine.

Mr George Torbay current University staff member

For significant service to the performing arts through music in a range of roles.

Ms Merilyn (Merry) Wickes BA 1973, BA (Hons) 1975

For significant service to the community through a range of roles and organisations.

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Mr Damiano Antenucci *Grad Dip Ed (Ed Admin) 1992*For service to secondary education through a range of roles.

Mr Craig Caldicott

LLB 1978

For service to surf lifesaving, and to the law.

Ms Vanya Cullen *Grad Dip Wine 1987*For service to viticulture and oenology.

Mr John Ellis

R D A 1970, RD Oen 1972

For service to the oenology industry.

Mr Wayne Henson *B Ec 1989*

For service to horse racing, and to Australian rules football.

Mr Bruce Ind B Sc 1975, Grad Dip Teach 1976 For service to the community through a range of roles.

Mr Brian (John) Minney
B Tech 1968
For service to local government, and to the community.

Mr Jeffrey (Jeff) Newman

BE 1957

For service to philately.

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) (continued)

Mr Kenneth (Ken) Pocock *B App Sc 1965* For service to oenology.

Dr Gerard Quigley

MBBS 1986

For service to medicine.

Ms Carla Stacey

BA 2000

For service to the community of Marrickville.

Ms Jennifer (Jenny) Weaver

BA 1972, Dip Ed 1975

For service to women through a range of organisations.

Ms Jillian (Jill) Whittaker

BA 1973 Dip Ed 1974

For significant service to local government, and to the community.

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Ms Elspeth Kay
B Sc 1997
For outstanding public service in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Professor Kathleen (Kathy) Ophel-Keller

Ph D (Ag Sc) 1989 and current University titleholder

For outstanding public service to the agricultural industry through research and innovative leadership.

Ambulance Service Medal (ASM)

Ms Thamsin Dunn
M Clin Nursing 2022